Term Limits for Inauguration Boycotters

Warning: Illegal string offset 'filter' in /home2/locumten/public_html/trmlmts.com/wp-includes/taxonomy.php on line 1409

Boycott Dems

The roster of House Democrats planning to boycott President-elect Donald Trump’s inauguration grew to about 50 on Tuesday in a protest of the New York businessman’s policies and his repeated criticism of legendary civil rights activist John Lewis.

The Georgia congressman made headlines over the weekend for challenging Trump’s legitimacy to be the next president and erroneously claiming that Trump’s inauguration would be the first he will have missed since coming to Congress three decades ago.

In fact, Lewis had skipped President George W. Bush’s inauguration in 2001.

Trump struck on Tuesday morning, as is typical, on Twitter: “WRONG (or lie)!” Trump tweeted, citing a 2001 Washington Post report that noted Lewis had skipped George W. Bush’s inauguration.

Lewis’ office on Tuesday confirmed that the congressman had missed Bush’s swearing-in.

“His absence at that time was also a form of dissent,” said spokeswoman Brenda Jones. “He did not believe the outcome of that election, including the controversies around the results in Florida and the unprecedented intervention of the U.S. Supreme Court, reflected a free, fair and open democratic process.”

Lewis said last week that he would skip Trump’s swearing in on Friday, telling NBC News that he didn’t view Trump as a legitimate president.

“I think the Russians participated in helping this man get elected. And they helped destroy the candidacy of Hillary Clinton,” Lewis said in an interview with NBC’s “Meet the Press” that aired Sunday.

Pick your Inauguration Boycotting #DTS SwampRat and then TrmLmts.com

Arizona Rep. Raul Grijalva

Arizona Rep. Ruben Gallego

California Rep. Barbara Lee

California Rep. Grace Napolitano

California Rep. Jared Huffman

California Rep. Juan Vargas

California Rep. Judy Chu

California Rep. Karen Bass

California Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard

California Rep. Mark DeSaulnier

California Rep. Mark Takano

California Rep. Maxine Waters

California Rep. Raul Ruiz

California Rep. Ted Lieu

California Rep. Tony Cárdenas

California Rep. Zoe Lofgren

Florida Rep. Darren Soto

Georgia Rep. John Lewis

Here’s a list of Democrats who have publicly said they won’t be at Friday’s ceremony:

Illinois Rep. Luis Gutierrez

Kentucky Rep. John Yarmouth

Maine Rep. Chellie Pingree

Maryland Rep. Anthony Brown

Massachusetts Rep. Katherine Clark

Michigan Rep. John Conyers

Minnesota Rep. Keith Ellison

Missouri Rep. William Lacy Clay

New Jersey Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman

New York Rep. Adriano Espaillat

New York Rep. Jerrold Nadler

New York Rep. Jose Serrano

New York Rep. Nydia Velazquez

New York Rep. Yvette Clarke

North Carolina Rep. Alma Adams

North Carolina Rep. G.K. Butterfield

Ohio Rep. Marcia Fudge

Oregon Rep. Earl Blumenauer

Oregon Rep. Kurt Schrader

Pennsylvania Rep. Dwight Evans

Pennsylvania Rep. Mike Doyle

Texas Rep. Al Green

Texas Rep. Joaquin Castro

Virginia Rep. Don Beyer

Washington Rep. Adam Smith

Washington Rep. Pramila Jayapal

Wisconsin Rep. Mark Pocan

Share Button